Skills for swimming are skills for life

Whatever your age, learning to swim should be fun.  Our swimming lesson programme caters for children from Primary 1 upwards, through 4 levels.  The Scottish Swimming Learn to Swim Programme progresses children from Level 1 to Level 4.  For more information on Socttish Swimming visit

Courses run for 10 week blocks.  Please note that participants will not necessarily move up a level every block.  Lessons are 30 minutes.

Group Mon Thurs Fri Sat
Level 1 4.00pm   4.00pm 9.00am
Level 2 4.00pm 4.30pm 4.00pm

9:00 am & 10.30am

Level 3 4.30pm 4.00pm 4.30pm 10.00am
Level 4 4.30pm                4.00pm 4.30pm 9.30am
Level 5
Level 6
  4.00pm 9.00am
Level 7   4.30pm - 5.15pm    
Level 8


5.15pm - 6.00pm

Advanced Class        11.30-12.15


  • LEVEL 1 - No experienced required. Introduces the young non    swimmer to the water environment.
  • LEVEL 2 - The underwater environment and submerging is introduced while building on confidence in the water.
  • LEVEL 3 - Early swimming stroke technique and floating skills are    introduced.
  • LEVEL 4 - Swimming strokes are taken further along with building on spatial awareness and performing tasks upside down.
  • LEVEL 5 - Basics of tumbling and streamlining their movement through the water, and kicking for a set distance, is covered.
  • LEVEL 6 - Undulation and skulling techniques along with motor skill patterns are developed.
  • LEVEL 7 - Practice of endurance swimming and personal water safety skills.
  • LEVEL 8 - Rhythm and stroke technique providing skills to pursue any activity in aquatics.
  • ADVANCED - Further rhythm and stroke technique, also a focus on stamina with a view to continue on to swimming club level.