Hold onto your netball / tennis racket / swimming trunks, the finalists in the Perth and Kinross Sports Person of the Year Awards are here!

The nominations have been counted, the judges and sponsors votes have been cast, and we can now announce this year's outstanding lineup of 36 finalists. Based on achievements gained throughout 2018, these finalists were whittled down from hundreds of nominations in a task that proved harder than ever. 

Laura Munro, Sports Development Officer for Gymnastics at Live Active Leisure and one of the organising committee commented: 

"Once again the calibre of nominees was incredible. We are undoubtedly spoiled for choice when it comes to sporting opportunities here in Perth and Kinross, and this year's entries proved just how much there is to be gained when a proactive sporting community comes toegther.

The many great coaches and volunteers, and the fact that we have access to some of the country‚Äôs best venues and facilities, has ensured sporting superstars across all areas and ages.  It goes without saying that everyone on this list is a winner in our eyes."

The organisers of the awards - Live Active Leisure's Sports Team - are proud to be recognising these great people and their achievements in a fantastic ceremony which will take place in Dewars Centre on Friday 8th March 2019.  Hosted by Jim Spence, BBC's Scottish Sports Broadcaster, the evening promises to be a real celebration of sports in the area.

This year's guest speaker is 400m hurdler and 2016 Olympic Medalist, Eilidh Doyle (Child).  Eilidh is the most decorated Scottish athlete in Olympic, World, European and Commonwealth competition and was Team GB Captain at the 2017 World Championships.  

Congratulations and well done to everyone! 

Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Thorntons Solicitors

Stephen Milne- Swimming
Scott McLay- Swimming
Robin Brydone- Curling

Young Male Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Alison Wilson

Jamie McGregor- Swimming
Jack Muncey- Swimming
Struan Bennett- Triathlon 
Matthew Doig- Athletics

Young Female Sport Personality of the Year, sponsored by Alison Wilson

Ella Doherty- Basketball
Cerys Cairns- Netball
Charlotte Wilson-Smith- Fencing

Disability Sports Person of the Year, sponsored by Small City, Big Personality PERTH 

Freya Howgate- Athletics
Matthew Doig- Athletics 
Fiona Driver- Bowls

Team of the Year, sponsored by Springfield PLC

Perth City Swim Club Premier Division Team
Craigie Primary School Gymnastics Team 
Perth and Kinross County Golf Boys Area Team

School Team of the Year, sponsored by Active Schools

Perth High S1 Football Team
Perth High S1 Netball Team
Perth Academy L1 Gymnastics Team

Official of the Year, sponsored by The Perth Gift Card

Leanne Gibb- Netball
Gordon McCabe- football
Fiona Crawford- swimming

Club of the Year, sponsored by Steve Brown Electrical

Breadalbane Community FC
Perthshire Rugby Club
Blackford Bowling Club

Coach of the Year, sponsored by Sprinterz

Richard Rennie- Cricket
Alan Surtees- Cricket
Phil Shore- Rugby

Young Coach of the Year, sponsored by T'go Creative

Rachael Devine- gymnastics
Andrew Pitts- swimming
Jack McKeith Low- football

Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Perth Trophy Shop

Kirsty Eadie- netball 
Lesley Morby- gymnastics
Dave Graham- football

George Mortimer Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Perth & Kinross Sports Council

Ken Reilly- Cricket 
Douglas Yeats- Football
Alexander Cargill- Archery